If you are a visitor to Ireland it is important that you are aware of the national speed limits. Driving in excess of the speed limit may result in an on-the-spot fine of €80.

As from 20 January 2005 all speed limits are expressed in km/h - kilometres per hour.


Speed limits are expressed through distinctive road signs. These signs are found throughout Ireland on every motorway, major and minor road. The speed limit in kilometres is shown in the centre of the sign in black numerals. (NOTE! Before 20 January 2005 road distances were expressed in kilometres but speed limits were expressed in 'miles per hour'). The Irish police force (An Garda Síochana) is responsible for enforcing road speed limits, detecting speeding offences and initiating proceedings by issuing fixed monetary penalties to offending drivers.

There are a total of five different types of speed limits throughout Ireland:

  1. Town/city built up areas - 50 km/h

  2. National roads and dual cariageways - 100 km/h

  3. Regional and local roads - 80 km/h

  4. Motorways - 120 km/h

    NOTE that learner drivers, vehicles under 50 cc, bicycles, pedestrians, animals and invalid carriages are not allowed on motorways in Ireland.

  5. Special speed limits - 30 km/h or 60 km/h. These are often applied to designated roads on the near built-up areas or schools.

Certain vehicles are subject to different speed limits than those outlined above.

  • Double deck vehicles - 65 km/h

  • Buses andoaches with more than eight passengers 80 km/h

  • Towing vehicles - 80 km/h

  • Trucks (with a design gross weight of more than 3,500kg) - 80 km/h

Exceptions to speed limits
Speed limits do not apply in Ireland to ambulances, Garda Síochana vehicles being used in the course of duty or fire brigade vehicles.